Natural & Organic Cosmetics Conference 2016

Natural & Organic Cosmetics Conference 2016
Successful trade conference – international networking – changing beauty ideal affects purchasing decisions

The 9th edition of the Natural & Organic Cosmetics Conference in Berlin centered on future- oriented scenarios, best practice examples, international trends and the challenges resulting from the increasing digitalization in retail. More than 230 international guests from various segments of the entire cosmetics industry attended the industry highlight in the fall to gather information on current topics.

For two days, the enthusiastic professional audience followed the contributions from international experts and seized the opportunity for interesting discussions and conversations. The multi-faceted conference program once again provided several approaches and suggestions from a broader perspective.

At the beginning of the conference program, chairwoman Elfriede Dambacher confirmed that the demand for natural & organic cosmetics continues on a global level and that natural & organic cosmetics are still the growth segment in the cosmetics market. Meanwhile, however, the plant-based near-natural category picked up considerably due to strong concepts. For the first time, the figures, gathered by GfK for the first six months 2016 for Germany, depicted that with
6,7 %, near-natural cosmetics are showing stronger growth than natural & organic cosmetics (+4 %). The situation is paradoxical, the industry expert stated. „The natural & organic cosmetics market is far from saturated. Demand and fulfillment of demand are increasing, but rarely do consumers find attractive shopping locations that meet their expectations“, claims Elfriede Dambacher. This foremost benefits online retail, confirmed Dr. Susanne Eichholz-Klein from the retail institute IFH (Institut für Handelsforschung IFH) in her presentation. An analysis exclusively compiled for the Natural & Organic Cosmetics Conference clearly showed the strong growth in online-retail attributed to natural & organic cosmetics.

The presentations of future-oriented trend researchers showed the changing shopping behavior of today ́s consumers. Pascale Brousse, owner of the Trend Sourcing agency in Paris, France, as well as Inga Nandzik, Director Innovation Strategy at the Sturm & Drang agency based in Hamburg, Germany, pointed out the resulting challenges for the entire cosmetics market and the communication with customers.

This current topic – the increasing digitalization of communication and in retail – was highlighted not only by Prof. Dr. Jo Groebel´s keynote: the Director of the German Digital Institute encouraged a general transformation with a gradual approach and adapting communication accordingly. Following the keynote, Benjamin Thym (offerista group) offered a perspective of the future of retail and how apps can provide personalized approaches. Which consumer groups are entering the market for natural & organic cosmetics and how relevant they are for natural & organic cosmetics was the focus of a lively performance by ART OF CHANGE, an interactive theater group.

Several best practice examples from retailers (Prokopp – Gewußt wie Perfumeries, Reformhaus Goll and Bio Feinkost Löwenzahn, Bielefeld) proved that in these channels natural & organic cosmetics can be successful above average, if actions are based on commitment and strategic planning. The conclusion of the expert ́s discussion: in the future, natural & organic cosmetics will play a major role both in stationary retail and online. The linking of an online presence and brick and mortar retail is, however, a prerequisite.
Two preeminent messages spanned both conference days: the natural & organic cosmetics industry, mostly dominated by medium-sized companies, requires more creativity to reach the younger and more demanding consumers. The speed of digital communication demands target-oriented approaches to reach the consumer groups.

In addition, the increasing „greening“ of the entire cosmetics industry requires distinct messages. Whether natural & organic cosmetics are distinctly discernable to consumers was the topic of a lively discussion with international experts and two representatives from politics: Both Renate Künast, Chairwoman of the committee for consumer protection, and Dr. Karin Gromann of the Federal Health Ministry Austria stated the necessity to offer consumers a comprehensible label to improve distinction, but without curtailing existing labels.

On the second day of the conference, following an intense review and a comparison of the traditional distribution channels organic food specialty stores and health food stores, the attention was directed towards the US. Kora Lazarski (SPINS, USA) and Marko Kucher, founder MaKe Business Solutions USA, offered sound insights into the US-market as well as valuable tips on how European brands can access the American market.

Panel B meanwhile focused on a hot topic: Gerald A. Herrmann (Organic Services) hosted the discussion with both supporters and critics about sustainable palm oil. The unambiguous conclusion: Even for natural & organic cosmetics, palm oil is difficult to substitute.

The suspense did not cease until the end of the conference: with the latest findings from skin research, Rainer Voegeli from DSM, based in Switzerland, captured the audience, followed by Inga Nandzik from Sturm & Drang. She focused on the new authenticity, the changes in beauty culture and what role natural & organic cosmetics are playing in a digital context. Her tenor: „Beauty is no longer considered a fate, it is turning into a negotiating mass that is negotiated in the masses.“

Once again in 2016 the participants were very pleased with the event and attested to a successful conference. Danila Brunner, Executive Director VIVANESS and BIOFACH, emphasized the relevance of the event: „It is a pleasure to see how successfully the Natural & Organic Cosmetics Conference has established itself in the industry as a fall event alongside the VIVANESS, which is held annually in February in Nuremberg. This underlines how important the mutual and well-founded exchange is, particularly in such a dynamic segment as the natural & organic cosmetics industry!“

On the first conference day, the naturkosmetik verlag also provided important information on behalf of the company, concerning the future orientation of the naturkosmetik verlag. As of January 2017, Wolf Lüdge will take over the management of the naturkosmetik verlag. Elfriede Dambacher will continue to provide her market expertise and will once again serve as chairwoman of the Natural & Organic Cosmetics Conference in 2017.

Elfriede Dambacher, program chairwoman and industry expert, is pleased about the future developments: „This year, the Natural & Organic Cosmetics Conference showed even more distinctly how important this industry conference is in order to be equipped for the future. The continuing development of the Natural & Organic Cosmetics Conference will be advanced with added competence from Wolf Lüdge. And I am very pleased that I will be able to focus even more on the market developments.“ The professional audience may therefore expect a future-oriented conference program in 2017 as well. And Wolf Lüdge comments: „In its 10th edition in 2017, the Natural & Organic Cosmetics Conference will once more with proven competence offer current topics relevant to the industry and present interesting approaches for the future of the industry and retail.“
Once again both conference days offered ample opportunities for international networking. The first day closed with the popular get-together on the patio of the Ellington Hotel – on this balmy evening, guests networked late into the night.

The next Natural & Organic Cosmetics Conference will be held September 26-27, 2017, at the Hotel Ellington in Berlin, with Elfriede Dambacher acting as program chairwoman and under new general management by Wolf Lüdge.

The next VIVANESS, international trade fair for organic cosmetics, will be held February 15-18, 2017, in Nuremberg.

Green Conference 2016

Once again in 2016, measures were undertaken for a Green Conference: The Natural & Organic Cosmetics Conference was designed to be environmentally friendly.

54.000 kilos CO2 were compensated through various projects from Soil & More.

The certificate is available for download:

Auswahl Conference Program Trendtour Conference Partners Travel & Accommodation

Internationaler Naturkosmetik Branchenkongress 2016

NATURKOSMETIK BRANCHENKONGRESS 2016

Erfolgreicher Branchenkongress – internationales Networking – Verändertes Schönheitsideal beeinflusst Kaufentscheidungen


Beim 9. Naturkosmetik Branchenkongress in Berlin standen Zukunftsszenarien, Best Practice Beispiele, internationale Trends und durch die Digitalisierung im Handel entstehende Herausforderungen im Fokus des vielfältigen Programms. Weit mehr als 230 internationale Teilnehmer aus verschiedenen Bereichen der gesamten Kosmetikbranche kamen zum Branchen-Highlight im Herbst, um sich über aktuelle Themen zu informieren.

Zwei Tage lang verfolgte das begeisterte Fachpublikum die Beiträge internationaler Experten und nutzte die Chance für spannende Diskussionen und Gespräche. Das Kongressprogramm bot auch in diesem Jahr viele Ansätze und Anregungen, die weit über den Tellerrand hinauswiesen.
Zum Auftakt des Kongresses konstatierte Programmvorsitzende Elfriede Dambacher, dass die Nachfrage nach Naturkosmetik weltweit anhält und Naturkosmetik weiterhin das Wachstumssegment im Kosmetikmarkt bleibt. Aktuell holt naturnahe Kosmetik mit starken Konzepten jedoch deutlich auf. Erstmalig zeigen die Zahlen, die von der GfK für das erste Halbjahr 2016 für Deutschland erhoben wurden, dass naturnahe Kosmetik mit 6,7 % deutlich stärker wächst als Naturkosmetik (+4 %). Die Situation sei paradox, erklärte die Branchenexpertin. „Der Naturkosmetikmarkt in Deutschland ist noch längst nicht gesättigt. Nachfrage und Bedarfsdeckung steigen, doch selten finden Konsumenten im Handel attraktive Einkaufsstätten, die ihren Erwartungen entsprechen“, so Elfriede Dambacher. Dass davon vor allem der Online-Handel profitiert, bewies Dr. Susanne Eichholz-Klein vom Institut für Handelsforschung IFH mit ihrem Beitrag. In einer exklusiv für den Naturkosmetik Branchenkongress erstellten Analyse machte sie deutlich, wie stark der Online-Handel mit Naturkosmetik gewachsen ist.
Die Beiträge zukunftsweisender Trendforscher veranschaulichten die Veränderungen im Einkaufsverhalten heutiger Konsumenten. Pascale Brousse, Inhaberin der Agentur Trend Sourcing in Paris, sowie auch Inga Nandzik, Director Innovation Strategy bei der Hamburger Agentur Sturm & Drang, zeigten die dadurch entstehenden Herausforderungen für den gesamten Kosmetikmarkt und für die Kommunikation zum Kunden auf.

Dieses für die Branche sehr aktuelle Thema – die zunehmende Digitalisierung der Kommunikation und im Handel – wurde u.a. von Keynote-Speaker Prof. Dr. Jo Groebel beleuchtet: Der Direktor des Deutschen Digital Instituts regte in seiner Präsentation die grundsätzliche Transformation an und appellierte, sich dem Thema schrittweise zu öffnen und den Grad der digitalen Kommunikation entsprechend zu wählen. Gleich im Anschluss gewährte Benjamin Thym von der offerista group einen Blick auf die Zukunft des Handels und zeigte, wie Einkaufen in Zukunft aussehen kann und wie sich mithilfe von Apps personifizierte Angebote formulieren lassen. Welche Kundengruppen auf den Naturkosmetikmarkt stoßen und welche Bedeutung sie für Naturkosmetik haben, wurde übrigens in einer unterhaltsamen Bühneninszenierung von ART OF CHANGE, einer interaktiven Theatergruppe, aufgeführt.

Verschiedene Best Practice Beispiele aus dem Handel (Prokopp – Gewußt wie Parfümerien, Reformhaus Goll und Bio Feinkost Löwenzahn Bielefeld) stellten unter Beweis, dass Naturkosmetik mit Engagement und Strategie in den vorgestellten Kanälen überdurchschnittlich erfolgreich sein kann. Fazit der anschließenden Expertendiskussion: Naturkosmetik wird zukünftig sowohl stationär als auch Online eine große Rolle spielen. Die Verknüpfung von Online-Auftritt und stationärem Geschäft ist dabei allerdings Voraussetzung.

Zwei Botschaften zogen sich durch beide Kongresstage: Die eher mittelständisch gepräte Naturkosmetikbranche benötigt wieder mehr Kreativität, damit die Botschaft auch bei jüngeren und anspruchsvolleren Konsumenten ankommt. Die Schnelligkeit der digitalen Kommunikation verlangt nach einem zielgerichteten Vorgehen, um die Käufergruppen zu erreichen. Zudem erfordert die zunehmende Ökologisierung der gesamten Kosmetikbranche eindeutige Botschaften. Ob Naturkosmetik ausreichend für Konsumenten erkennbar ist, war Gegenstand einer lebendigen Diskussion mit internationalen Experten und zwei Vertreterinnen der Politik: Sowohl Renate Künast, Vorsitzende des Verbraucherausschusses des deutschen Bundestages, als auch Dr. Karin Gromann vom Bundesministerium für Gesundheit Österreich sehen die Notwendigkeit, dem Konsumenten eine einfach nachzuvollziehende Kennzeichnung zur Verfügung zu stellen. Diese sollte mehr Klarheit bringen, ohne jedoch die am Markt etablierten Siegel zu schmälern.

Am zweiten Kongresstag wurde nach intensiver Betrachtung und einem Vergleich der traditionellen Vertriebswege Naturkost und Reformhaus dann im Forum A der Blick auf die USA gerichtet. Kora Lazarski von SPINS (USA) sowie Marko Kucher, Gründer MaKe Business Solutions USA, ermöglichten fundierte Einblicke in den US-Markt und boten wertvolle Praxis-Tipps, wie europäische Marken sich den US-Markt erschließen können. Zeitgleich nahm Forum B sich eines heißen Themas an: Gerald A. Herrmann (Organic Services) leitete die intensive Diskussion mit Befürwortern und Kritikern über nachhaltiges Palmöl. Auch hier ein eindeutiges Fazit: Palmöl ist auch für Naturkosmetik schwer ersetzbar.
Der Spannungsbogen riss bis zum Programmende nicht ab: Mit aktuellen Erkenntnissen aus der Hautforschung fesselte am Nachmittag Rainer Voegeli von DSM aus der Schweiz die Zuhörer und leitete zum inspirierenden Schlussakkord über, den Inga Nandzik von Sturm & Drang setzte. Sie widmete sich der neuen Authentizität, dem Wandel der Schönheitskultur und welche Rolle Naturkosmetik im digitalen Kontext übernimmt. Ihr Tenor: „Schönheit ist nicht mehr Schicksal, sie wird Verhandlungsmasse und in der Masse verhandelt“.
Die Teilnehmer zeigten sich 2016 erneut äußerst zufrieden und bescheinigten dem Veranstalter einen sehr gelungenen Kongress. Auch Danila Brunner, Abteilungsleiterin VIVANESS und BIOFACH, betont die Relevanz der Veranstaltung. „Es ist schön zu sehen, wie erfolgreich sich der Naturkosmetik Branchenkongress als Herbstveranstaltung in Berlin neben der VIVANESS, die alljährlich im Februar in Nürnberg stattfindet, als zweites Highlight der Branche etabliert hat. Das macht deutlich, wie wichtig der gegenseitige und fachlich fundierte Austausch gerade in einem sich so dynamisch entwickelnden Sektor wie der Naturkosmetik-Branche ist!“

In eigener Sache gab der naturkosmetik verlag am ersten Kongresstag auch eine wichtige Information zur zukünftigen Ausrichtung des naturkosmetik verlages bekannt. Ab Januar 2017 übernimmt Wolf Lüdge die Leitung des naturkosmetik verlages. Elfriede Dambacher bleibt der Branche mit ihrer Marktexpertise erhalten und wird auch 2017 den Programmvorsitz des Naturkosmetik Branchenkongresses innehaben.

Elfriede Dambacher, Programmvorsitzende und Branchenexpertin, freut sich uber die Neuausrichtung: „Der Naturkosmetik Branchenkongress zeigte dieses Jahr noch deutlicher, wie wichtig dieser Fachkongress ist, damit sich die Marktteilnehmer zukunftsfähig aufstellen können. Die Weiterentwicklung des Naturkosmetik Branchenkongresses werden wir mit verstärkter Kompetenz durch Wolf Lüdge vorantreiben. Mir gefällt daran, dass ich mich ab sofort noch stärker auf das Marktgeschehen fokussieren kann.“ Das interessierte Fachpublikum darf sich also ebenso im kommenden Jahr auf ein wegweisendes Kongressprogramm freuen. Dazu Wolf Lüdge: „Auch bei der 10. Ausgabe 2017 wird der Naturkosmetik Branchenkongress mit bewährter Kompetenz branchenrelevante, aktuelle Themen zur Diskussion stellen und interessante Ansätze zur Zukunft von Handel und Industrie präsentieren.“


Der nächste Naturkosmetik Branchenkongress findet vom 26.-27.9. 2017 mit Elfriede Dambacher als Programmvorsitzende und unter neuer Gesamtleitung durch Wolf Lüdge im Hotel Ellington Berlin statt.


Die nächste VIVANESS, internationale Fachmesse für Naturkosmetik, findet vom 15.-18. Februar 2017 in Nürnberg statt.

Wie immer gab es an beiden Tagen viele Möglichkeiten fur intensives wie internationales Networking. Am ersten Kongresstag wurde beim Get-together auf der Terrasse des Ellington Hotels an einem lauen Spatsommerabend bis tief in die Nacht genetzwerkt.

Green Conference

Green Conference - Naturkosmetik Branchenkongress 2016

 

Wie schon in den vergangenen Jahren wurde auch der Naturkosmetik Branchenkongress 2016 umweltfreundlich ausgerichtet.

54.000 Kilo CO2 wurden durch verschiedene Projekte von Soil & More kompensiert.

Das entsprechende Zertifikat finden Sie hier zum Download:

Auswahl Kongressprogramm Trendtour Kongresspartner Anreise